A year ago today …

A view of the old work building from my spin class at the gym.

A year ago today my life changed.
A year ago my company moved from Emeryville to South San Francisco.
That move changed my life in many ways. I am surprised I have lasted a year but then I am not surprised. Is that weird?
I now get up for work at 5:30 a.m. Something I never thought I would do. This means I have to go to bed between 9:30 and 10 p.m.
I still drive to the old building in Emeryville and then jump on the shuttle bus, which drives us the 20ish miles to South San Francisco.
Since I don’t drive to work I have become a bag lady: big purse; gym bag; lunch bag; laptop bag.
I have learned how to maximize my working hours and really focus on time management. I now work fewer hours–as in no longer averaging 10-hour work days. I just can’t with my long commute.
One thing that I have really been focusing on and excelling at is maintaining and enhancing my exercise. I work out 6-7 days a week. We have a pretty nice gym at work and I utilize it 2-3 times a week. The espinner is a great thing for me. If I have time I get some weights and abs in as well with the free weights, weight machines, benches, medicine balls, etc.
I get yoga classes in anywhere between 2-4 times a week. (I try to switch up a day or two and go back and forth with the yoga and spin.)
Saturdays I hit my regular gym for two hours of spin; abs and body conditioning. (I have a lot of friends in those Saturday classes. They are the main reason I have’t quit the gym yet.)
I work from home on Fridays. It’s a nice way to start my weekend. I get a lot done. And it makes the commute a little more tolerable with it only being four days a week. And I get to sleep in, which means waking up at 6 or 6:30.
Being driven to work is a nice thing. I can sleep, veg, read, knit, work, listen to music, chat with friends, etc. It’s my me time. My exercise seem to also be my me time.
My time in the evenings is rather limited. Depending on if I work out at the work gym or go to a 6 p.m. yoga class I am usually home between 6:45 and 7:30. In that time I have to shower; make dinner; eat dinner; get my gym bag or yoga clothes ready for the next day; get my clothes ready for the next workday; get lunch ready for the next day; blog; and also catch up on a show or two. That’s a lot to do in roughly two hours. But somehow I do it.
Here’s to another year …